About Me

I’m an aspiring baker from Surrey, England, now living in Cardiff, Wales. I moved here in 2017 after marrying my lovely Welsh husband, Will. My background is in languages, and I have a Masters in Literary Translation and a BA in Italian and Spanish. I am currently enjoying learning Welsh in my spare time.

Baking

Baking is a great passion of mine; it allows me to be creative and precise, two things which I really enjoy. Anyone who knows me well knows that I love attention to detail! I also enjoy taking pictures of my bakes and I spend quite a bit of time trying to get a good shot. Check out some of my bakes on my blog. Will is a chocolate fiend, so he was happy when I baked him chocolate brownies a few years ago:

Me baking brownies for my chocolate-loving husband!

Welsh

I have spent the last three years learning Welsh, and I have just begun a Welsh Advanced (Uwch) course. Last year in August 2019, I achieved the highest mark in Wales for my Welsh Foundation (Sylfaen) language exam and was presented with the Basil Davies Memorial Trophy by the Archdruid of Wales, Myrddin ap Dafydd at the National Eisteddfod in Llanrwst, North Wales:

Helena Davies
Receiving the Basil Davies Memorial Trophy at the National Eisteddfod in Llanrwst, August 2019.

Travelling

I really love to travel, and I can’t wait until the world returns to normal and we can travel safely again. As part of my year abroad at university (many years ago in 2000!), I spent time in Padua, Italy and Tenerife, Spain, so naturally I am very fond of these places. In 2017, Will and I were lucky enough to honeymoon in New Zealand, and I have some incredible memories of our road trip which started in the North Island and ended in the South Island. Here’s a picture from when we went cycling around Lake Wanaka, South Island:

Cycling around Lake Wanaka, South Island, New Zealand

Hiking

Will and I love to hike in the Brecon Beacons and along the Welsh coastline. We are both really outdoorsy, so this was a big reason why we moved from London to Cardiff. It is amazing being so close to such spectacular beauty spots. Will is particularly fond of the mountains and there is nothing I enjoy more than a bracing walk by the sea. Here is a picture of us hiking the Glamorgan Heritage Coast:

Will and I hiking along the Glamorgan Heritage Coast, Wales

Strength Training

Keeping fit is really important to me, and over the last three years, Will and I have both developed a keen interest in strength training. Before the pandemic, we used to work out regularly at a gym so that we could make use of their squat racks etc. Since the pandemic struck, we have been working out at home and we now seem to have developed a mini-gym, having acquired several pairs of dumbbells etc.! Here’s a picture of me strength training in covid times:

Strength training – about to do the floor press!

Picture Credit (Feature Image at Top): Lensmonkey